smugmarrieds

we have a lot to say

I organize, therefore I am

After visiting Mr. J’s parents on the long weekend, I got the itch to re-organize my kitchen. I’m a pretty organized person. Well, until the rigors of working anything but Monday – Friday, 9-5, I was really organized. Think Martha Stewart on crack. I made my own sweater folding boards for crying out loud. Yeah I had issues, but my house looked fanfreakingtastic. So when real life took over, and I was working random shifts throughout the week, my organizational habits were the first to go, and when we moved into our house two years ago, I just slapped everything into the first drawer I could find.

Then I came across OrgJunkie, and it was like the angels were singing (or the kids from The Sound of Music. Man, could they belt out a tune while climbing mountains! The air is thinner up there you know! They must have had them some good lung capacity! Anyway, I digress). This website, combined with the masterful layout of Mom and Dad J’s kitchen really got me thinking that I should do something about the dollar store style of organization in my kitchen.

Here’s what my upper cabinets looked like before:

Not terribly messy or disorganized, but just bad enough to drive me slightly mental.

I used OrgJunkie’s PROCESS system. To quote Laura:

“When organizing a space it is helpful to follow a series of tasks or actions. This will enable you to keep on track and produce a clutter free space with a system designed specifically for your needs and the space involved in order to reduce chaos and confusion in your home and in your life.

Less chaos and confusion = more time and money for the things that really matter such as….spirituality, emotional well-being, physical health and loving relationships.”

I couldn’t agree more. I find that when my house is disorganized, I feel more stressed out and overwhelmed. When the house is all organized-up, I feel in control, and like I have a handle on everything else in my life.

Here’s the PROCESS system that Laura teaches:

Plan of attackplan your project – which area(s) do you want to address – make a list – evaluate present system, what is working, what isn’t working, devise new system – determine budget – develop timeline

Remove items – empty the space completely so you can start from a clean slate – this is much more effective than just shuffling everything around.   Remove then sort & purge

Organize into piles – donate/toss/sell/keep/relocate – sort like with like – purge excess – the more you purge the less you have to find a home.  Your goal is to bring back into your space only what you love and use and can fit into the space you have available.  Purge until it fits!

Containerize – find storage solutions – containers establish limits and boundaries – designate a space for items being kept – consolidate where possible

Evaluate plan – how is your system working for you – are you able to work your system? What needs to be modified? A good system should be easy to maintain

Solve/Simplify any remaining issues.  Address anything that isn’t working for you – revise accordingly

Smile, relax and enjoy your hard work!

Even though for me, that last one should include a suggestion to jumpy clap as well. I was so gosh darn pleased with myself and what I accomplished in 3 hours, and I remembered just how much I love to organize things.

This is what my cabinets looked like after:

I made little wee labels so that we know what’s in the baskets!!! I LOVE labels. I think a great wedding gift would be a LabelMaker. The dogs better watch out.

I even went so far as to organize my antique pie cabinet that houses all my baking supplies. I didn’t take a picture of it before, because I didn’t think I was going to get that far, but look how beauuuuutiful the end result was! Seriously, you should have seen it before. DIS-aster! It looked like the Wilton catalog mated with the Bulk Barn and they had kids. It was bad.

Not to be left out, Mr. J decided that he wanted in on that action too, and organized under the sink. This actually means that I asked him to do it for me (under the sink CREEPS ME OUT), and because he loves me and is a very nice man, he did it. But let’s pretend that he did this of his own initiative. Welcome to my fantasy world people!

Mr. J’s before and after:

Good job Mr. J!

If you’ve got a space that is driving you mental, try the PROCESS system! Crank some tunes, grab a drink (alcoholic if you so desire – sometimes this helps with the ruthlessness needed to throw things out!) and organize your little heart out baby!!!!!

The really great outcome of my project is that I’m going to take all the dishes, plates, cups etc. that we don’t use, and donate them to the Salvation Army. And if that’s not enough to make you feel redeemed when you’re done… you’ve got bigger issues that we’ll deal with in the future.

Happy Organizing!!!

xo

Mel

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2011 by in Organizing and tagged , , , , , , .

we’ve already said…..

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

